Honour in Culture Award

We present the Honour in Culture Award to individuals, groups and corporations known for their dedication to and support of the development of Nanaimo's cultural fabric. Recipients are honoured at a special awards ceremony held at the Port Theatre and their portraits are displayed in the Strongitharm Gallery.

Reserve your FREE tickets for the 2020 Culture & Heritage Awards Ceremony

The City of Nanaimo and the Port Theatre Society proudly present the 2020 Culture & Heritage Awards Ceremony on Thursday April 16th, 2020.   Please join us to celebrate the best of Nanaimo’s culture and heritage sector while enjoying an evening of FREE entertainment by Nanaimo’s very own local talent.  Tickets are FREE but must be reserved in advance through the Port Theatre Box Office (www.porttheatre.com) at 250-754-8550. We will be honouring the following award recipients:

  • TRISH & GEOFF HORROCKS, Honour in Culture
  • PATRICK ALECK, Emerging Cultural Leader
  • GARY & ADAM MANSON, Honour in Heritage
  • DEVON JOINER, Excellence in Culture

Nomination someone today!

Intake for 2020 Culture & Heritage Award nominations has passed (Wednesday, 2019-OCT-30).  The awards recognize outstanding organizations, groups and individuals in the arts, culture & heritage fields.

This is your opportunity to recognize people and groups you believe have made a significant contribution to making Nanaimo a culturally vibrant city.

Past Recipients

Holly Bright (2010)
Sandra Thomson (2011)
Marian Smith (2012)
Eveline O'Rourke (2013)
Ian Niamath (2014)
Arlene Blundell (2015)
Debbie Trueman (2016)
Gerda Hofman (2017)
William Good (2018)
Dean Chadwick (2019)

Related Documents

Contact Us

Culture & Events 250-755-4483

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.

Collection and use of your personal information
Information collected on this form is done so under the general authority of the Community Charter and Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPPA), and is protected in accordance with FOIPPA.  Personal information will only be used by authorized staff to fulfill the purpose for which it was originally collected, or for a use consistent with that purpose. Questions about the collection of your personal information may be referred to the Legislative Services Department at (250) 755-4405, or via email at foi@nanaimo.ca.
Privacy Policy