Nanaimo City Council


Mayor and Council contact information

An elected Council comprised of a Mayor and eight Councillors governs the City of Nanaimo. Councillors are elected for four-year terms and each member of Council represents the City at large. The Community Charter gives Council the authority to set budgets, levy taxes and establish policies to guide the growth, development and operation of the City for the benefit and protection of its residents.

The powers of the Mayor and Council are exercised through the adoption of resolutions or the enacting of bylaws at regularly scheduled Council meetings. 

Open Council meetings are held biweekly, Monday evenings at 7:00 pm in the Shaw Auditorium located in the Vancouver Island Conference Centre at 80 Commercial Street

See our 2020 Key Date Calendar for the list of upcoming meetings.

The rules governing the conduct of the meeting are outlined in the Council Procedure Bylaw and Robert's Rules of Order. Members of the public are welcome to attend the open meetings of Council. You can address Council at these meetings by appearing as a delegation. Request to appear as a delegation.

If you would like to contact the Mayor and Council, send e-mail to To contact the Legislative Services department, or for general inquiries contact

Acting Mayor Schedule 2020

Please note: information provided on this page may not be used for sending unsolicited commercial messages

Last updated: August 4, 2020

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.

Collection and use of your personal information
Information collected on this form is done so under the general authority of the Community Charter and Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPPA), and is protected in accordance with FOIPPA.  Personal information will only be used by authorized staff to fulfill the purpose for which it was originally collected, or for a use consistent with that purpose. Questions about the collection of your personal information may be referred to the Legislative Services Department at (250) 755-4405, or via email at
Privacy Policy