The City of Nanaimo is governed by a Council of 9 elected officials: 1 Mayor and 8 Councillors. Council operates at policy level and delegates day to day operations through the Chief Administrative Officer to City Staff.

General Local Elections are held every four years and beginning in 2018 will be held on the third Saturday in October.  This is when all eligible voters in the City of Nanaimo elect their Council and School District No. 68 Board Trustees.  From time to time there is a need to hold other types of voting opportunities such as: a by-election (to fill a vacancy) or Other Voting (to respond to a referendum question).

The City of Nanaimo is responsible for running its own local elections according to Provincial laws regulating local government elections.

Past Elections

Related links

Last updated: December 15, 2021

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.

Collection and use of your personal information

Information collected on this form is done so under the general authority of the Community Charter and Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPPA), and is protected in accordance with FOIPPA. Questions about the collection of your personal information may be referred to the Legislative Services Department at (250) 755-4405, or via email at foi@nanaimo.ca. Please also see our Privacy Policy.