Nanaimo Votes: Nomination period closed for 2022 General Local Election

Mayor and Councillor candidates declared

The nomination period for the 2022 General Local Election has ended and the Chief Election Officer has declared the candidates. The candidates are as follows:


  • Tasha Brown
  • Brunie Brunie
  • Tim Dorman
  • Leonard Eugene Krog
  • Agnes Provost


  • Jeff Annesley
  • Sheryl Dawn Armstrong
  • Ken Bennett
  • Don Bonner
  • Tyler James Brown
  • Paul Chapman
  • Hilary Eastmure
  • Ben Geselbracht
  • Nick Greer
  • Derek Hanna
  • Mike Hartlaub
  • Erin Colleen Hemmens
  • Gary Richard Korpan
  • Jay Krishan
  • Shirley Lambrecht
  • Peter Lee
  • Zeni Maartman
  • Alan MacDonald
  • Paul Manly
  • Janice Perrino
  • Frank Pluta
  • Peter Poole
  • Michael Ribicic
  • Norm Smith
  • Robb Squire
  • Viraat BK Thammanna
  • Ian Thorpe
  • Corey Allan Trinkwon
  • David Julius Wang

"Five candidates have been declared for the position of mayor and 29 candidates have been declared for the position of councillor," said Sheila Gurrie, Director, Legislative Services and Chief Election Officer, "Should they wish to do so, candidates will have until 4 p.m. on Friday, September 16 to withdraw from running."

On Saturday, October 15, 2022, electors in the City of Nanaimo will elect one mayor and eight councillors. Two advance polls will be held in the Beban Social Centre from 8 am to 8 pm on Wednesday, October 5 and October 12, 2022. General Voting Day is Saturday, October 15, 2022, and twelve voting locations will be open for voters to choose from.

For more information visit



For media enquiries, please contact:
City of Nanaimo

Print News Release

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.
Collection and use of your personal information

Information collected on this form is done so under the general authority of the Community Charter and Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPPA), and is protected in accordance with FOIPPA. Questions about the collection of your personal information may be referred to the Legislative Services Department at 250-755-4405, or via email at Please also see our Privacy Policy.