Nanaimo welcomes its new mayor and council at the 2018 Inaugural Ceremony


The 2018 local election in Nanaimo was record breaking. More than 27,000 electors cast their votes on October 20, and the City's new mayor and council will be welcomed and sworn-in during an inaugural ceremony at 7pm on Monday, November 5. Leonard Krog will be Nanaimo's new mayor, and Sheryl Dawn Armstrong, Don Bonner, Tyler Brown, Ben Geselbracht, Erin Hemmens, Zeni Maartman, Ian Thorpe and Jim Turley will be our new 2018-2022 Nanaimo City Council.

The public is invited to come and join the audience at the ceremony, taking place at 7pm at the Vancouver Island Conference Centre (Mt. Benson Ballroom). The ceremony will also be livestreamed through the City's website and will be broadcast live on Shaw TV, channel 4.

Link to Strategic Plan: n/a

Key Points

  • The inaugural meeting of the Nanaimo's new city council will be held Monday, November 5 at 7pm in the Vancouver Island Conference Centre.
  • The public is invited to attend in person, or can watch the ceremony live on our livestream or on Shaw TV, channel 4.


"The inaugural ceremony on Monday is our opportunity to welcome in the new mayor & council that will be guiding our city for the next four-year term, as well as an opportunity to say thank you to our former mayor and council."

City Clerk
City of Nanaimo

Quick Facts

  • Nanaimo's newly elected mayor and council will hold a four-year term of office, ending in October 2022.
  • The Bastion will be lit in blue on Monday night as an additional welcome to the City's new mayor and council.


Sheila Gurrie
City Clerk
City of Nanaimo
250 755 4494

Print News Release

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.