Excellence in Culture Award

We present the Excellence in Culture Award to organizations and individuals that have achieved regional and/or national recognition in the field of arts and are recognized as a “Nanaimo Artist,” have demonstrated excellence in their field, and are a significant inspiration to others. Recipients are honoured at a special awards ceremony held at the Port Theatre and their portraits are displayed in the Strongitharm Gallery.

Nomination someone today!

We are currently accepting public nominations for the 2020 Culture & Heritage Awards.  The awards recognize outstanding organizations, groups and individuals in the arts, culture & heritage fields. The deadline for nomination submission is Wednesday, October 30, 2019 (4:00 pm).

This is your opportunity to recognize people and groups you believe have made a significant contribution to making Nanaimo a culturally vibrant city.

Past Recipients

David Gogo (2010) 
Steve Jones (2011)
Jillian Vanstone (2012)
Vancouver Island Symphony (2013)
Pat Coleman (2014)
Grant Leier & Nixie Barton (2015)
Susan Juby (2016)
Jacqui Kaese (2017)
Rick Scott (2018)

Related Documents

Contact Us

Culture & Heritage 250-755-4483

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.