City of Nanaimo welcomes members of the Tourism Advisory Committee


Nanaimo City Council is pleased to announce the appointment of 11 members to the new Tourism Advisory Committee (TAC). Council approved the appointments at its Special Council meeting on May 1 and the committee will be meeting for the first time this week.

Members of the TAC will be working together to develop a new model that will strengthen collaboration between and integration across all parts of Nanaimo’s tourism sector. The goal is to provide Council with recommendations for the successful delivery of unified tourism services in Nanaimo.

The City wishes to thank the newly appointed committee members, listed below, for volunteering their time and expertise to helping shape the vision going forward. The committee members are:

• Mike Bauche • Leif Bogwald • Dan Brady • Chao Chang • Lex Dunn • Rosemary Gibson • Jenn Houtby-Ferguson • Dale Partridge • Robert Plante • Joan Spencer • Henry Traa

Link to Strategic Plan: This committee supports Economic Health, one of the pillars in the City's Strategic Plan.

Key Points

  • The TAC will commence work on developing a new model for tourism services this month.
  • Over the course of its work, the committee will be seeking input from stakeholders. Members of the community interested in participating in upcoming discussions are encouraged to watch for advertisements.
  • Tourism updates are available on the City's website by visiting:


"On behalf of Mayor and Council, I wish to thank all those who applied to this very important committee. The work to be accomplished by the TAC will be the cornerstone of the strategy to be implemented by a robust stakeholder driven group which maximizes resources toward the common and fruitful goal of a successful tourism and hospitality industry in Nanaimo."

City of Nanaimo


Philip Cooper
Communications and Engagement Director
City of Nanaimo
250 755 4532

Print News Release

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.