Excellence in Culture Award

This award is presented to an organization or individual that has achieved regional and/or national recognition and is recognized as a “Nanaimo artist", demonstrating excellence in their field, and a significant inspiration to others.

This award category presents the community with the opportunity to recognize people and groups they believe have made a significant contribution to making Nanaimo a culturally vibrant city.

Traditionally, recipients are honored as part of a lively, public celebration at the Port Theatre in April.

Past Recipients

  • Bryan Stovell, Nanaimo Concert Band (1998)
  • Diana Krall (1999)
  • Lynne Bowen (2000)
  • Ingrid Jensen (2001)
  • Marlin Wolfe (2002)
  • Sandra Good (2003)
  • Carole Martyn, Kirkwood Academy of Performing Arts (2004)
  • Joelle Rabu (2005)
  • Francine Peters (2007)
  • VI International Children's Festival (2008)
  • Carmella Luvisotto (2009)
  • David Gogo (2010)
  • Steve Jones (2011)
  • Jillian Vanstone (2012)
  • Vancouver Island Symphony (2013)
  • Pat Coleman (2014)
  • Grant Leier & Nixie Barton (2015)
  • Susan Juby (2016)
  • Jacqui Kaese (2017)
  • Rick Scott (2018)
  • Devon Joiner (2020)
  • Ay Lelum (2021)


We're happy to help. Contact us directly at 250-755-4483 or cultureandevents@nanaimo.ca. Subscribe to receive Love Arts Nanaimo Updates and follow us on Instagram at @Culture_Nanaimo.

Contact Us

Culture & Events 250-755-4483

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.

Collection and use of your personal information

Information collected on this form is done so under the general authority of the Community Charter and Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPPA), and is protected in accordance with FOIPPA. Questions about the collection of your personal information may be referred to the Legislative Services Department at (250) 755-4405, or via email at foi@nanaimo.ca. Please also see our Privacy Policy.