Nomination period closes for 2017 by-election


Nominations to run in the July 8 Nanaimo City Council by-election closed at 4:00 pm on Friday, June 2. The following have been declared by the Chief Election Officer as eligible candidates:

Armstrong, Sheryl Dawn Brunie, Brunie Burton, Sacia Cake, Leon Cantelon, Kevin Mercier, Jim Routley, Noah Saunders, Neil Statham, Fred Storrie, Kevin Bruce Taylor Middleton, Alexis Thompson, Al Whiteside, Kelly

For additional information and questions, please email

Link to Strategic Plan: Taking responsibility to be an excellent municipal government.

Key Points

  • Voting day for the by-election will be held on Saturday, July 8 with advanced polls on Wednesday, June 28 and Wednesday, July 5.
  • More information, including educational videos on the by-election, can be found on the City's website at


"With the nomination period now closed, I can declare 13 candidates will be running for the vacant seat in the by-election. Residents are encouraged to visit the City's website to find out if they are registered to vote."

Chief Election Officer
City of Nanaimo


2017 By-Election - Advanced Voter Registration
2017 By-Election - Advanced Voter Registration


Sheila Gurrie
Cheif Election Officer
City of Nanaimo

Print News Release

Help us improve our website

Don't include private or financial information in this form.