Stylesheets: Screen version | Mobile

City Hall

Nanaimo City Hall is located at:
455 Wallace Street
Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6

Hours of business:
8:30am to 4:30pm Monday to Friday

Main switchboard and general enquiries: (250) 754-4251
After hours emergency calls (250) 758-5222


Municipalities were first formed in the late 1800s in British Columbia when residents saw the need for their growing communities to have the benefit of locally provided and locally controlled services.

The City of Nanaimo was first incorporated as a municipality in 1874.  Since that time the City has seen significant growth with a population now exceeding 86,000.

The City provides a variety of services to those living and visiting here.  It provides and maintains the community's basic essential services like clean water, garbage collection, sewer system, roads, and fire and police protection.  In addition, the City also provides other services such as libraries, parks and recreational facilities.

The type and levels of service provided in the City are determined by its elected Council.  City Council is elected every three years and consists of a Mayor and eight Councillors.  Council meets on a regular basis to set the direction and service priorities for the community.

City Staff have been hired and tasked with the responsibility of implementing the services and priorities established by Council.

A list of the specific services provided by the City and a contact telephone number, can be found in the Directory of City Services.

If you can't find the information or contact you are looking for, the Legislative Services Department serves as a community link between Council, City Staff, and the general public, and may be able to answer your questions or direct you to the appropriate department.

Minor Navigation