Stylesheets: Screen version | Mobile

City Council

Nanaimo City Council

Mayor Bill McKay , Councillor Bill Bestwick , Councillor Diane Brennan , Councillor Gordon Fuller , Councillor Jerry Hong , Councillor Jim Kipp , Councillor Ian Thorpe , Councillor Bill Yoachim


An elected Council comprised of a Mayor and eight Councillors governs the City of Nanaimo. Councillors are elected for four-year terms and each member of Council represents the City at large. The Community Charter gives Council the authority to set budgets, levy taxes, and establish policies to guide the growth, development and operation of the City for the benefit and protection of its citizens.

The powers of the Mayor and Council are exercised through the adoption of resolutions or the enacting of bylaws at regularly scheduled Council meetings. See our tentative meeting schedule for the list of upcoming meetings. Open Council meetings are held biweekly, Monday evenings at 7:00 p.m. in the Shaw Auditorium located at 80 Commercial Street. The rules governing the conduct of the meeting are outlined in the Council Procedure Bylaw and Robert's Rules of Order. Members of the public are welcome to attend the open meetings of Council. The public can address Council at these meetings if arrangements to do so are made ahead of time.

If you would like to contact the Mayor and Council, send e-mail to mayor& To contact the Legislative Services department, or for general inquiries contact

Please note: information provided on this page may not be used for sending unsolicited commercial messages

Minor Navigation