Stylesheets: Screen version | Mobile

Municipal Elections

The City of Nanaimo is governed by a Council of 9 elected officials: 1 Mayor and 8 Councillors. Council operates at policy level and delegates day to day operations through the Chief Administrative Officer to City Staff.

General Local Elections are held every four years and beginning in 2018 will be held on the third Saturday in October.  This is when all eligible voters of the City of Nanaimo elect their Council and School District No. 68 Board Trustees.  From time to time there is a need to hold other types of voting opportunities such as: a by-election (to fill a vacancy) or Other Voting (to respond to a referendum question).   The City of Nanaimo is responsible for running its own local elections in accordance with Provincial laws regulating local government elections.

More Information:
General Election Bylaw 2011 No. 7129
Community Charter
Local Government Act


Minor Navigation