

## CANADA:

## PROVINCE OF BRITISH COLUMBIA

ELIZABETH the SECOND, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom, Canada, and Her other Realms and Territories, Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith.

To all to whom these presents shall come -

GREETING.

( WHEREAS by Letters Patent approved

( the 4th day of December, 1974, the

Minister of Municipal Affairs

( City of Nanaimo was incorporated

and Housing

( as and from the 1st day of January,

1975, under the provisions of the Municipal Act being Chapter 255 of the Revised Statutes of British Columbia, 1960:

AND WHEREAS it is deemed expedient to amend the procedures that were established concerning the method of electing council in the said Letters Patent by the issue of supplementary Letters Patent;

NOW KNOW YE THAT by these presents We do order and proclaim that the Letters Patent issued on the 4th day of December, 1974 that provided for the re-incorporation of the City of Nanaimo be amended as follows:

- 1. By adding the following words to paragraph 4 after the word "election" in the second line: "and at each subsequent election," so that the paragraph reads as follows:
  - "4. For the purpose of the first election, and at each subsequent election, the municipality shall be divided into zones and separate lists of electors shall be prepared as follows:
  - Zone 1: that area of the municipality lying
    within Electoral Areas A and C of the
    Regional District of Nanaimo, and known
    as Chase River, Cinnabar and including
    the industrial areas in the Cedar district,
    more particularly described in Appendix
    'A' hereto;
  - Zone 2: that area of the municipality lying within

    Electoral Area B of the Regional District

    of Nanaimo and known as Harewood, more

    particularly described in Appendix 'B'

    hereto;

- Zone 3: that area of the municipality comprising

  The Corporation of the City of Nanaimo

  as incorporated under former Letters

  Patent (B.C. Gazette dated March 31, 1960);
- Zone 4: that area of the municipality lying
  within Electoral Area D of the Regional
  District of Nanaimo and known as
  Northfield and East Wellington, more
  particularly described in Appendix 'C'
  hereto;
- Zone 5: that area of the municipality lying
  within Electoral Area E of the
  Regional District of Nanaimo and
  known as Departure Bay, more particularly described in Appendix 'D' hereto;
- Zone 6: that area of the municipality lying
  within Electoral Areas F and G of the
  Regional District of Nanaimo and known
  as North Wellington, more particularly
  described in Appendix 'E' hereto:
- 2. By the deletion of paragraph (6a) in its entirety and by the substitution of the following:
  - "(6a) At the regular semual election to be held in the year 1976, and biennially thereafter, provision shall be made for the election of a Mayor and eight (8) Aldermen as follows, each to serve a term of two years:

- of the municipality at large who shall hold office on and from the date of the first meeting of Council in 1977 until noon of the first Monday after the first day of December, 1978, or until his successor takes office, and thereafter the provisions of the Municipal Act apply;
- (2) the election by the electors of Zone 1 of the municipality as described in paragraph 4 hereof of one Alderman who shall be resident of the said zone and shall be nominated by two electors of the zone and who shall hold office on and from the date of the first meeting of Council in 1977 until noon of the first Monday after the first day of December, 1978, or until a sufficient number of Aldermen have been sworn in to make up a quorum, and thereafter the provisions of the Municipal Act apply;
- the municipality as described in paragraph 4
  hereof of one Alderman, who shall be a
  resident of the said zone and shall be
  nominated by two electors of the zone who
  shall hold office on and from the date of
  the first meeting of Council in 1977 until
  noon of the first Monday after the first

day of December, 1978, or until a sufficient number of Aldermen have been sworn in to make up a quorum, and thereafter the provisions of the Municipal Act apply;

- of the municipality as described in paragraph 4 hereof of three Aldermen each of whom shall be a resident of the said zone and shall be nominated by two electors of the zone, each of whom shall hold office on and from the date of the first meeting of Council in 1977 until noon of the first Monday of the first day of December, 1978, or until a sufficient number of Aldermen have been sworn in to make up a quorum, and thereafter the provisions of the Municipal Act apply;
- of the municipality as described in paragraph 4 hereof of one Alderman who shall be a resident of the said zone and shall be nominated by two electors of the zone who shall hold office on and from the date of the first meeting of Council in 1977 until noon of the first Monday after the first day of December, 1978, or until a sufficient number of Aldermen have been sworn in to make up a quorum, and thereafter the provisions of the Municipal Act apply;

- the election by the electors of Zone 5 of the municipality as described in paragraph 4 hereof of one Alderman who shall be a resident of the said zone and shall be nominated by two electors of the zone, who shall hold office on and from the date of the first meeting of Council in January, 1977 until noon of the first Monday after the first day of December, 1978, or until a sufficient number of Aldermen have been sworn in to make up a quorum, and thereafter the provisions of the Municipal Act apply;
- (7) the election by the electors of Zone 6 of the municipality as described in paragraph 4 hereof of one Alderman who shall be a resident of the said zone and shall be nominated by two electors of the zone, who shall hold office on and from the date of the first meeting of Council in 1977 until noon of the first Monday after the first day of December, 1978 or until a sufficient number of Aldermen have been sworn in to make up a quorum, and thereafter the provisions of the Municipal Act apply.
- 3. By adding the following as paragraph (6b):
  - "(6b) (1) on or before the 1st day of January,

    Directors to represent the municipality on
    the Regional Board of the Regional District
    of Nanaimo shall be appointed annually, by
    resolution of the Council, and shall hold

office until the first Monday following

December 1 or until the appointment of

a successor, whichever is later;

(2) notwithstanding subsection (1), the term of office for each of the present Directors shall be completed and an appointment by resolution of the Council shall not be made until that term has expired or the office otherwise becomes vacant.

AND THAT the Letters Patent of the City of Nanaimo be deemed to be amended accordingly.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, We have caused these Our Letters to be made Patent and the Great Seal of Our said Province to be hereunto affixed.

WITNESS, the Honourable Henry P. Bell-Irving, D.S.O., O.B.E., E.D.,

Lieutenant-Governor of Our said Province of British

Columbia, in Our City of Victoria, in Our said Province,

this 24th day of August, in the year

of Our Lord one thousand nine hundred and seventy-eight

and in the twenty-seventh year of Our Reign.

By Command.

Provincial Secretary and Minister of Travel Industry.

