

NEWS RELEASE

Distributed October 19, 2022

Nanaimo Votes: City completes declaration of 2022 election results

All winning candidates declared elected

Summary

With the final votes tallied, the City of Nanaimo is pleased to confirm the results of the 2022 General Local Election. Chief Election Officer, Sheila Gurrie, has declared the following candidates for the next Mayor and Council. As the candidate who received the highest number of valid votes for the Office of the Mayor, Leonard Krog has been officially re-elected.

The following candidates, who received the highest number of valid votes for the Office of Councillor, are also officially elected:

- Sheryl Armstrong (10,260 votes)
- Tyler Brown (6,805 votes)
- Hilary Eastmure (5,650 votes)
- Ben Geselbracht (8,383 votes)
- Erin Hemmens (7,497 votes)
- Paul Manly (10,366 votes)
- Janice Perrino (7,131 votes)
- Ian Thorpe (8,040 votes)

A summary of votes cast in the 2022 General Local Election is available at www.nanaimo.ca/elections.

Strategic Link: N/A

Key Points

- The results of the 2022 General Local Election are now considered final.
- Nanaimo's newly elected Mayor and Council will hold a four-year term of office, ending in October 2026.
- The inaugural meeting of the new Nanaimo City Council will be held Monday, Nov. 7 at 7 p.m. in the Vancouver Island Conference Centre.

Quotes

"This election saw a turnout of 18,664 ballots cast. Thank you to all members of our community who voted in the advance polls and on General Election Day."

Sheila Gurrie Chief Election Officer City of Nanaimo

-30-

Contact:

For media enquiries, please contact: Communications City of Nanaimo Media.Requests@nanaimo.ca 250-754-4251



View the online edition for more information - https://cnan.ca/3Dle41b