



City completes declaration of 2018 election results

All winning candidates declared elected

Summary

With the final votes tallied, the City of Nanaimo is pleased to confirm the results of the 2018 Election. Chief Election Officer, Sheila Gurrie, has declared the following candidates for the next Mayor and Council. As the candidate who received the highest number of valid votes for the Office of the Mayor, Leonard Krog has been officially elected.

The following candidates, who received the highest number of valid votes for the Office of Councillor, are also officially elected:

Erin Hemmens (15,937 votes)

Sheryl Dawn Armstrong (15,817 votes)

Ben Geselbracht (15,136 votes)

Tyler Brown (14,935 votes)

Jim Turley (11,649 votes)

Don Bonner (9,674 votes)

lan Thorpe (8,993 votes)

Zeni Maartman (8,558 votes)

A summary of votes cast in the 2018 General Local Election is available at <u>www.nanaimo.ca/goto/elections</u>.

Strategic Link: N/A

Key Points

- The results of the 2018 General Local Election are now considered final.
- Nanaimo's newly elected Mayor and Council will hold a four-year term of office, ending in October 2022.
- The inaugural meeting of the new Nanaimo City Council will be held Monday, November 5 at 7 pm in the Vancouver Island Conference Centre.

Quotes

"This election saw a record turnout of 27,475 votes cast. Thank you to all members of our community who voted in the advance polls and on General Election Day."

Sheila Gurrie Chief Election Officer City of Nanaimo

Quick Facts

• With a combined total of 27,475 votes cast, 39.7 per cent of registered voters came out to vote. In comparison, voter turnout for the 2014 election was 34.1 per cent of registered voters.

-30-

Contact:

Sheila Gurrie City Clerk and Chief Election Officer City of Nanaimo 250-755-4494



View the online edition for more information - <u>https://cnan.ca/2D3Js6i</u>